please review my planter

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by smellsmellsmell, Mar 22, 2024.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smellsmellsmell

smellsmellsmell Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    HI all,
    I am an A Level student who has made this steel planter, with a water feature (that is the large metal bit in the middle, the water flows down and repeats). I wouldn't mind if I could get some feedback on this such as; would you use it, do you like it and is there anything you would change.

Many thanks,
    Liv
    IMG_7155.jpeg

2. Dovefromabove

Dovefromabove Head Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,583
    That looks very smart. Could you give us its measurements please?.
    Does it have drainage holes?

• Like Like x 1
      Last edited: Mar 22, 2024
    • Michael Hewett

Michael Hewett Total Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +19,299
      I like that it's got wheels and can be moved around, that's very handy :smile:
      and I like the circular designs on the front.
      However it looks (to me) a bit dull, and hopefully if it was placed in a nicer position than you've got it in the picture it would look brighter.

Also has it got drainage holes ? It needs them otherwise it will fill with water after heavy rain.

• Like Like x 1
      • Jenny_Aster

Jenny_Aster Optimistic Gardener.

Retired
        Ratings:
        +1,035
        I'm imagining the metal middle is the waterfall with either side being the planters with soil. Would love to see this working. To me it is pleasing on the eye and would be a good foil for colourful flowers.

Are you thinking of having lights?

Love the idea of it having casters. Water and soil can be pretty heavy, would the base be able to cope with the weight, especially if drainage holes are compromising the strength?

Water, metal and electric makes me a little nervous though.

• katecat58

katecat58 Gardener

Ratings:
        +310