plumeria seeds

Discussion in 'Tropical Gardening' started by DUBMAN2011, Jun 22, 2011.

1. DUBMAN2011

DUBMAN2011 Apprentice Gardener

I'm a carpenter and joiner
    Ratings:
    +5
    I found these seeds on eBay for this plant and inwas amazed how beautiful it really looked in the picture. if you don't know this plant from it's name, google it on images you will 100% love it! I didn't think it would grow in the uk but there is afew ppl who are growing them over here, and one is blooming in Scotland! so if it grows up there then it will grow in Kent! lol I'm up for a challenge! lol anyone else growing this plant??

2. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,441
    Yes, some of us do but it will not flower for a few years from seed and as far as I know will not grow or flower outside in the UK.
    They are strictly for the conservatory or greenhouse or may be a few months outside in a warm summer.

3. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,441
    No acknoweldgement to the reply. Why did I bother.

4. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +91,679
    Hiya strongy, I'll talk to ya.:D

5. Bilbo675

Bilbo675 Total Gardener

Gardener & Plant Sales
    Ratings:
    +6,654
    Me too :D; I've got one growing from seed at the moment, it's only about 6" high but looks very healthy, it's currently on a very warm windowsill....:thumb:

6. strongylodon

strongylodon Old Member

Retired
    Ratings:
    +29,441
    I know you will Pete but I wish posters would at least acknowledge the fact that someone has replied to their question, it's just a courtesy, most have but there are a few who haven't.

7. pete

Retired
    Ratings:
    +91,679
    Know what you mean.

I grew a couple to this size from seed without getting any flowers

[​IMG]

I'm now growing cuttings from them.
    I dont think growing from seed is the best way of getting a good flowering plant.

8. PeterS