1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Possible disease affecting rowan tree – identification needed

Discussion in 'Identification Area' started by JonC, Jul 25, 2016.

1. JonC

JonC Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone, gardening novice here. Over the past few weeks a lot of plants in my garden seem to have succumbed to various problems, just as I was getting in the swing of things! The worst affected is a small rowan tree, but I am struggling to determine what is getting the better of it. For the past few weeks the leaves have begun to curl, turn brown, and drop off; many of the berries have shrivelled too, and many of the leaves have developed holes. See the photo attached.

At first I thought it was a watering problem. To be honest I hadn't been watering the tree much compared with the shrubs, pots etc in our small garden, as I thought it was established enough to survive the hot weather. But for the past week or so I have been watering it lots, and this doesn't seem to have made much difference. Also, it is only a portion (currently about 1/3rd, but increasing) that seems to be affected – and surely if it was lack of watering, all the leaves would be drooping?