Preparing a Garden Bed...

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by suze2403, Oct 19, 2010.

1. suze2403

suze2403 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All!

When you prepare a garden bed, do you use a Spades, Shovel and Forks, but find it is a lot of hard work and time? Or do you use a diesel rotavator to get the job done even though its not eco-friendly?

I am a product design student in my final year at Northumbria university and have to undertake a major final year project which finds a problem that a product can solve; I have been in touch with a community that is constantly increasing its ability to be eco-friendly, sustainable and provide for itself from its surroundings; such as, growing their own veg for the community etc. The community have suggested a pedal powered rotavator may be a good idea, because they are spending a lot of time and hard work to prepare the beds just using spades and shovels to tackle 1/4 of an acre at a time yet our legs are much stronger than our arms and may be able to do the job more sufficiently.

So do you think that it is a good idea and there is a need for a product like this? Or would you even want a product like it for your allotment/garden/community yourself? All opinions and thoughts will be greatly welcome!

Suze

2. Chopper

Chopper Do I really look like a people person?

Seal Clubber
    Ratings:
    +112
    Suze

A lot depends on the size of the plot, the type of soil you have and the gardener him/herself. I have also found that using the right tool for the job makes a hell of a difference to how difficult or easy the job is. I am a bit of a tool snob. I just refuse to buy tools that are of poor quality. They never last long, usually break at the worst possible time and are not the most comfortable items to use.