Pruning a new hedge, slightly unsure.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Russell Morris, May 17, 2013.

1. Russell Morris

Russell Morris Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to gardening, so please bear with me! I planted a bare-root beech hedge late last year; it should, retrospectively have been hornbeam, but it's not. Due to the cold weather, the leaves only started appearing a week or two ago, but thankfully they are appearing - it looks like three or four may not have survived, so I'll have to replace them in Winter. I think I should have planted them further back from the border, but there's not a lot I can do about that now.

The question (finally) is when should I prune them, to maximise side growth? I should probably have nipped the tips when I planted them, so should I now wait until Winter?

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,968
    Welcome to the forum :)

Take out the tops a few inches below the eventual height of your hedge. That might be in a few years time depending on the size of plants you got.

That's what beech hedges do, they keep their brown last years leaves over-winter, these fall off in the spring and the new green leaves appear a couple of weeks later.

3. Russell Morris

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, and thank you; this looks like a good spot for picking up tips - now that I have a garden. ;)

Oh I see, so I don't want to bother trimming the tops until it gets to that height? That would certainly make less work.

4. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    Don't dig them out yet ... Beech is quite variable about when it comes into leaf, some will be several weeks behind the first one.