Pruning Rambling & Climbing Roses

Discussion in 'Roses' started by elliegreenwellie, Jun 29, 2007.

1. elliegreenwellie

elliegreenwellie Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,

I am a novice when it comes to roses. I planted one minature rambling rose called Star Performer (chew pearl) which is just flowering and one climber (pink but lost the name tag!) which has just finished flowering. Any clues on whether they will flower again and how and when to prune them?

The climber is sending out great new shoots that I am tying i and I am hoping it will climb up a trellis I have quyite quickly - I assume I should cut the new shoots?

Would very much appreciate your help.

Thanks EGW

Many thanks

2. Liz

Liz Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    I don't know your rose 'Star Performer' but you should treat it as an ordinary climber. As the shoots grow turn them horizontally and tie them onto the terrace in a fan shape. This should encourage them to put out vertical shoots and you can fill the trellis.This site shows the process quite well:
    http://www.greenfingers.com/articledisplay.asp?id=392
    'Star Performer' is a repeat flowerer, which means it will flower in bursts through the summer, rather than a continous one which has some flowers all the time.

3. elliegreenwellie

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Liz, should I just dead head it then when the flowers have finished to encourage the next ones?

4. Dorsetmike

Dorsetmike Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ellie, a lot of ramblers only flower for a few weeks in early summer, Star performer is supposed to bloom in flushes throughout the season, it is possible that it may not flower again in its first year, or not as strongly as it will when established.

click here for details

The new shoots on the climber, carry on tying in, you should get flowers on them next year, as for pruning, either late autumn or early spring.