Question regarding aconitine (that deadly toxin)

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by stephenprudence, May 16, 2017.

1. stephenprudence

stephenprudence GC Weather Guru

General Asisstant (for now), and full time immatur
    Ratings:
    +2,368
    Does anyone know how long Aconitine or any of the other toxins would stay active on clothing? I brushed against a monks-hood plants the other day.. narrowly missing my leg but getting my shorts. Would the toxin be inactive 6 days later?

2. silu

silu gardening easy...hmmm

Ratings:
    +8,083
    I have been growing Aconitum for over 30 years and honestly I reckon you'd be more likely to be killed by a meteorite than having any ill effects from these very attractive plants. Ok if you were idiot enough to eat a whole load of it then you might not be too well but there are 1000s and 1000s of things in our modern day living which are much more dangerous.
    Chill out and don't worry, there is an awful lot of drivel written about so called toxic plants. I have it on reasonably good authority that Daffodil bulbs are more toxic that Aconitum yet how many people have you heard of being killed by either?!:) Motorbikes on the other hand now they are toxic when it comes to harming humans!

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +52,310
      Yes, Daffodils are certainly toxic and I think they may have hallucinatory tendencies too. My dog (sadly long gone) had a tendency to track down hedgehogs and torment them. On a few occasions she'd ripped up my Daffs to get to them and would spend the following few hours in a drunken kind of delirium. :doh:

• Informative Informative x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • stephenprudence

Ratings:
        +2,368