radishes.

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by hammer, May 8, 2008.

1. hammer

hammer Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi growing radishes from seed in the greenhouse they look great nice and clean and very green there about 2 in tall been in the greenhouse about 11 days. when do i thin them out and is it 1 stalk per plant as you can notice im only a beginner i have a lot to learn yet.
    thanks.

2. Sarraceniac

Sarraceniac Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Hammer. welcome to GC. You can thin the radishes just as soon as they are big enough to handle but I thin as they get big enough to eat. Far more sensible. You do not actually say where you live (seems to be a common trait with new members) but as your radishes are in the greenhouse one can only assume you are at the North or South Pole. Otherwise, why?

3. hammer

hammer Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi from lincs i only put them in the greenhouse to start them off is it ok to do this.
    anyway i thinned them out and potted in to bigger tub watered them but they have gone limp is that normal. also i read that they do not like full sun is that correct.
    thanks.

4. daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Hammer, radishes, like all root crops, are better off sown straight in the ground, they do not like transplanting, that is why you are having problems. Sown in the ground they are ready to crop in 3 to 4 weeks.:)

5. Tiarella

Tiarella Optimistic Gardener

Ratings:
    +120
    I have sown my radishes straight into the ground and they are doing really well. We've been including them in salads for some weeks now. Don't forget to sow successionally to keep a crop going thoughout summer.

6. hammer

hammer Gardener

Ratings:
    +0