Re-Turfing (advice please)

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by RyanOtekki, Jul 18, 2015.

1. RyanOtekki

RyanOtekki Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg Hi Everyone!

I am a novice at this so looking for some advice. Bought a house last year, spent this year doing it up and now ready to tackle the garden.
    Just layed the patio but have about 36m2 of grass/weed that is dead in places. It's covered in dandelions and weed. What is the best thing to do to returf the lawn?
    I was thinking of cutting it, laying some weed killer, leaving a while, dig up dead grass and weed then add top soil then turf. Would this be the right way of doing things? The soil has a fair bit of clay, although the neighbours grass looks fine
    I have attached some photos

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,886
    Welcome to GC Ryan. :)

If the lawn is a small area then I would seriously consider killing the whole lot off and starting again as you have a lot of weeds in it. Sometimes patching things can take a lot more work. If you would still prefer patching then I can guide you through either one. :)

3. RyanOtekki

Ratings:
    +1
    @Sheal thanks for the response :) do you have any suggestions on what to use to kill it off? I take it I kill it all, dig it up, add top soil then turf? Sound right?

Many thanks :)

4. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,886
    You're welcome. :)

It is often better to re-lay a lawn in spring or autumn as it establishes better in the cooler climate and needs less watering, particularly if grass seed is being used.