1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommendation for trailing wall covering plant?

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Kroton, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Kroton

Kroton Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi everyone!!

I'm completely new to outdoor gardening, and man oh man has it been overwhelming trying to educate myself!!! Never realised indoors was so much easier, it sounds somewhat counter intuitive! I'm looking for some help finding a good trailing wall covering plant.

CONDITIONS
    I have a balcony that I've lined with wall hanging baskets. It's L shaped, south facing and east facing (so the parapets the baskets are hanging on are north facing and west facing I suppose). A third of the south facing one is sheltered by balcony above, but the vast majority is unsheltered. Was hoping to cover the wall with trailing plants and just put up a ton of wall baskets. I'm really strruggling to get consistent info on what would do OK. I live in Glasgow incidentally. The balcony is quite windy as it faces a park and very sunny, though the south facing part will have the parapet shade the trailers. No conservatory or indoors options.

DREAM LIST
    If I could get something with variegated leaves like Paddy's Pride I'd be really happy...If that's too much to ask for anything hardy and evergreen that is happy being pruned (but also capable of reaching down to the ground, so around 1m).