recycling

Discussion in 'Compost, Fertilisers & Recycling' started by mistys, Mar 3, 2006.

1. mistys

mistys Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I have found a great way of recycling the cardboard tubes from used toilet rolls. I cut the rolls in half, stand the required number in a seed tray, fill each one with compost, and use as srarter pots for seedlings, When the plants are ready to go outside the whole pot can go in the ground with no root disturbance, and will eventually rot down.

2. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    full length ones are good for sweet peas - my m-in-law has always done that!

3. mistys

mistys Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks,I will give that a go as well,I'm new to this game so have a lot to learn.

4. Honey Bee

Honey Bee Gardener

Queen Bee
    Sunny South coast (well, it used to be......)
    Ratings:
    +54
    Good tip!!! (especially for the sweet peas!!) I usually put my tubes in the compost bin (if the dog hasn't got them first!!) I've been busy collecting yoghurt pots, but will try this too!! I did try making pots from newspaper, but not terribly successful - couldn't get the bottoms flat enough, and they collapsed when they got too wet.... :rolleyes:

5. Liz

Liz Gardener

Ratings:
    +65
    This is a great tip. I'm all in favour of recycling anything and everything.
    I use the rolls [full length] for broad beans and green beans too. Surplus ones can be composted.
    I was given a lttle wooden gadget for forming seed pots out of newspaper. It works very well, and gives me something useful to do at this time of year while watching television!
    I also use clear plastic bottles cut in half as mini propagators or slug deterrents when plants are first put outside- the half with the lid allows for ventilation, other end can be poked to make a hole.
    Copper scouring pads can be unravelled to use as cheap slug defence!

6. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener