Red Spider mite and other pests...

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by WolfieKate, May 8, 2011.

1. WolfieKate

WolfieKate Gardener

Marketing, then Mum, then tbc!
    Ratings:
    +150
    Hello!!

I am a newbie.. I live in the South West and I am struggling with garden pests. I feel a bit demoralised as I love my garden.

So I have lost an Acer to Soft scale. Some other plants have it too (I have found it on a kiwi vine and a dogwood tree and all my other acers) but I keep going round and cleaning the horrid little limpets off.

Yesterday I lost a passion flower in a tub. I guessed it was dead but when me and my enthusiastic 3 year old dug down we found 11 chafer grubs which must have devoured the roots.

And now I have found my Olive tree in a tub has red spider mite. They cluster in patches on the trunk. I have sprayed it and I read that keeping it wet and spraying them off with water helps.

But does anyone think I should ditch it before it spreads. It would be heart breaking as the tree looks healthy. Anyone else had this? I am so tired of my gardening being so blighted!

Thanks

Kate

2. davygfuchsia

davygfuchsia Gardener

Ratings:
    +257
    Can I ask where you are keeping your Olive tree? Usually red spiderlives on the underside of the leaves and causes leaf yellowing ..in Severe cases you may well see fine webs..
    Any contact type sprays are best applied on the underside of the leaves .and as you mentioned fine misting with water will help as they like hot dry conditions ... I'm sure others will add to this ..
    Dave

3. WolfieKate

WolfieKate Gardener

Ratings:
    +150
    Hello!

Thanks for your quick reply. I keep it in a large tub at the front of the house which is west facing, it gets sun all afternoon. It's next to my cold frame and a hydrangea.