Removing Grass Growing Between Pavers

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by NoviceGardener2023, Aug 7, 2023.

1. NoviceGardener2023

NoviceGardener2023 Gardener

Ratings:
    +22
    Hiya, complete novice gardener here, but we have recently moved into a new build estate. Back garden came with some paving already laid, with presumably sand underneath.

There is a good amount of grass having grown between the pavers, maybe seed got through when the builders were seeding the garden.

What is the best approach to removing the grass between the pavers, (without the need to lift up the pavers). I have read many different options elsewhere on the internet, including one saying get a small blow torch (was not an approach I was expecting) but at the same time I do not want to discolour the light coloured paving with flame if that is indeed a recommended approach.

Also, is there anything that can be done to try prevent the grass growing back there once removed?

A couple of thumbnail pics attached for reference.

Many thanks

IMG_20230803_144342.jpg IMG_20230803_144338.jpg

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +91,982
    I'd spray it with glyphosate weed killer.
    I dare say you will get other weeds seeding between them from time to time, although glyphosate will kill the roots of the ones you have there at the moment.
    I doubt a blow torch will actually kill the roots.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Jiffy

Jiffy The Match is on Fire

Pyro
      Ratings:
      +32,952
      If you use a blow torch and get the slab's too hot some can explode

• Like Like x 1
      • NoviceGardener2023

Ratings:
        +22
        Thank you all above so far for your clear advice.

First step, sounds like getting some glyphosate weed killer. Should I spray or use a watering can to poor on? I feel a spray is easier to control.
        Should I spray the gaps which have no grass growing through yet?