RENEWING AN UNEVEN WEED INFESTED LAWN? HELP

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by cooperidol, Feb 21, 2011.

1. cooperidol

cooperidol Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, myself and my girlfriedennd purchased a house 6 months ago which is about 10 years old (new build).. when they laid the turf originally they obviously didn't pack it down due to it now being extremely uneven (it can drop between 6 and 9 inches in some spots. also there is a plethora of big,thick stubborn weeds (one of which i tried to dig out, and after getting down a foot and it still being 2" thick i gave up :cry3:)

we are now at the stage (financially and emotionally lol) to begin work to attain a nice flat weedless lawn.
    what we want sounds simple (it probably isn't) but i am a complete novice in the garden and would love some advice:

basically how do we rid ourselves of these ridiculous weeds, can i buy some acid strength killer without killing off the future fertility of the soil?
    and whats the best way to level the ground? my dad could have access to a mini digger, and i was thinking scooping out a good 6" and going at some of the weeds, getting rid of that and then throwing a bit of top soil down, putting a roller on it, giving it a rake then laying some new grass??

please bear in mind that im thinking of attaking all this in April, i don't know if that makes a difference?

sorry for the long post, and thanks for the advice in advance, because anything will be a help! cheers. Jamie

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,667
    Depends if the soil below the lawn is full of builders rubble (sadly, often the case) or not.

If it is then it needs a complete sort out - it will need digging over to remove all the rubble and open up the soil to improve the drainage. If not its probably just settled over time because it wasn't properly compacted initially.