Residential lawn issue

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by ahsanj, Aug 3, 2017.

1. ahsanj

ahsanj Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello

First post here, as someone told me it's best place to get advice on lawns.
    I have got new turf laid around two months ago after old turf was completely destroyed, which you can see in first picture marked as 1 and then marked as 2.

Now I see those tiny mud bump rising again as in picture 1, and grass is turning muddy some places as shown in picture 2.

I have not got a clue what is happening. The guy who laid the turf wouldn't explain anything.

I will really appreciate if someone can give me some directions/treatment etc?
    Many thanks

1.jpg 2.jpg IMG_20170803_090408.jpg

2. Sian in Belgium

Sian in Belgium Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +9,232
    I'm not a lawn expert by any means - you should see my meadow / grass!

But those look like worm casts to me. Close up, do they look like very soft, brown spaghetti? Almost as if someone is squeezing mud out from underneath, through a tiny hole? If so, be grateful that your soil is healthy enough to have worms, and when the little soil piles are dry, take a yard brush and brush the surface of the grass, dispersing the piles...

Anyway, I'm sure the experts will be along soon!

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • ahsanj

Ratings:
      +0
      Thanks for your response. Appreciated.

These are kind of worm casts but very sticky and will very hard to brush off even dry. Also where these casts appear grass won't grow there, it becomes very hard. I have also seen couple of white larvas lurking around occasionally.

• ricky101

ricky101 Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +4,184
      Agree with Sian, they do look like worm casts and do not know of any other creature that makes such a mess like that.

Apart from said brushing you could water hose them off, but that may depend on below.