Reviving 'Lawn' after building work

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by dansin, Mar 11, 2009.

1. dansin

dansin Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly hi all, newbie here.

I've recently completed a barn conversion that stands in a 1600m² 'U' shaped area of what was once a great lawn. All of which now needs serious attention and I'm unsure of the best way to proceed.

Half of it has been trenched and backfilled to lay a GSHP collector pipe. With a good cut this would look OK if it wasn't for all of the trench settlement. Would the best way to proceed be to rotovate and level the whole area and add new grass seed? Will the old grass come back through? Or should I weedkill the whole lot then proceed?

The other half has been completely decimated and is going to require a machine to bring it to level first. It is now more weeds than grass so I assume it would be prudent to weedkill this area before trying to return it to lawn?

All advice gratefully received. Barns I can do, gardens, lawns and plants - no idea!

TIA

Daniel

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    Personally I would get a turf cutter and run it along the length of the GSHP settlement "rows" and lift the turf; apply some topsoil to the "rows", and then replace the turf. Firm down well, put a leaky-hose on them to irrigate if we get a dry April or May, then you should be away. This is based on the grass being GOOD!

For the other area sounds like:

Spray with Glyphosphate / Roundup to kill the weeds. It will kill everything it touches, so don't let any wind carry the spray, and careful where you walk after applying the weed killer!

Leave for at least 2 weeks for everything to die. Spot-spray anything you missed (ideally leave some more, but not totally necessary).

Rotavate lightly. Don't Get/Hire a Merry Tiller type, get one with self propelled wheels with the rotors behind (or a mini tractor with a PTO drive Rotavator on the rear arms).