Ripe tomatoes

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by colincwb, Aug 31, 2010.

1. colincwb

colincwb Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    [align=left]Hi there
    My question is I have 3 types of tomatoes growing

Moneymaker
    Gardeners delight
    Mini Bell

My problem is there are still not ripe, and the cold is starting to set in so would I be able to cut them off and ripen indoors.

What is the best wae to do this ?

Thanks again
    Colincwb

[/align]

2. Freedom_Spark

Freedom_Spark Gardener

Ratings:
    +26
    I'm still a bit of a beginner & I'm sure more experienced gardeners will be able to confirm this, but I think tomatoes can ripen up until late September/ early October, so I wouldn't rush into anything. Mine (some of which are gardeners delight) were extremely slow at ripening & I still have many green fruits. I put in plenty of banana skins in the pots & on the plants' supports & they've really started to ripen, this week especially!

Here was a plant a couple of weeks ago, with a slight colour on one fruit, whcih was just the first one to ripen.

[​IMG]

And this evening I went to feed them & there all at it, yours could potentially ripen in a short space of time.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So I'd give them another while if I were you. Good Luck!

3. Dave W

Dave W Total Gardener

Anything I fancy and can afford!
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    There's no rush at all Colin.
    We've loads of Gardeners delight outside and they are ripening every day and will continue to do so for at least another six to eight weeks. I'll not clear the plants until we start getting frost and then I'll store the green ones in boxes in the house and let them ripen.
    With my greenhouse crop I usually wait until growth has ceased then uproot them and hang them upside down to ripen in the greenhouse. I've often been able to pick a few 'fresh' toms for Christmas lunch by doing this.