Rocks/Paving Slabs/Bricks etc underground

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by LordAlwold, Aug 19, 2013.

1. LordAlwold

LordAlwold Gardener

Ratings:
    +23
    A bit of a conundrum,
    I'm in the midst of totally overhauling my garden and whilst digging up the top end of the garden I'm constantly coming across bricks/rocks/stones/broken paving slabs of all shapes and sizes buried deep in the ground which were put there by the previous tenant.
    I'm a complete novice when it comes to the world of the green finger but am improving and learning all the time. What I need to know is what is the reason and fascination for having these pain in the arse objects buried underground in the first place? Is there a mystical garden enhancing reason why they're there? Also I keep coming across a sort of (I can only describe as) green netting buried underground which comes apart easily when I try to pull it up. Is this connected to turf or something? Am I undoing the work of a gardening genius or a lazy arsed individual who couldn't be bothered to throw the rocks etc away?

2. Fern4

Fern4 Total Gardener

The gardener of the house!
    Ratings:
    +7,491
    It's the rocks /paving slabs/bricks fairy. They live at the bottom of the garden. :snork:

• Agree Agree x 3
    • LordAlwold

LordAlwold Gardener

Ratings:
      +23
      Damn those sprites! If I catch one I'll use one of the buggers to break those bloody rocks I keep unearthing!

• LordAlwold

LordAlwold Gardener

Ratings:
      +23
      Aha! There's a swear filter here! I shall watch my French!

• Like Like x 1
      • Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
        +0
        Yup, sounds like they had a phobia of going to the tip.

• Like Like x 1
        • Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
          +0
          Absoulement :biggrin:

Welcome to Gardeners Corner by the way :sign0016:

• LordAlwold

LordAlwold Gardener

Ratings:
          +23