rusty metal container - how to use it for plants?

Discussion in 'Container Gardening' started by steven118, Aug 12, 2007.

1. steven118

steven118 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello. I have a big old galvanised metal container I want to plant up with spring bulbs. I'm totally new to this, and I'm not sure about some really basic things.

1. There are a couple of rusty patches. Do I need to repair or protect them, and if I do, how would I do this?

2. Drainage: should I just drill a few holes in the bottom?

3. Lining: should I line the container, and if I should, what with?

Thanks for your help - and sorry if these are really stupid questions!

Steven

2. Fonzie

Fonzie Gardener

Transportation
    Ratings:
    +15
    I don't think the rust will be a problem myself, but do drill holes in the bottom for drainage and I wouldn't line it with anything.

3. tiggs&oscar

tiggs&oscar Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steven,

No such thing as a stupid question on this site! I wouldn't worry about the rust or lining either. Drainage is important so if you can drill holes - great otherwise you can put a bottom layer in the container then put your soil on top. For example, use gravel, broken crockery/terracotta plant pots etc so that the excess water will drain through to this layer then get sucked back up when the plants need it.

TO [​IMG]

4. JarBax

JarBax Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    I have a couple of (rusty)galvanised containers too. I haven't worried about the rust - neither have the plants. I drilled holes in the bottom, and they work well. I DID line them - I used an offcutof pondliner in one, and old compost bags on the others. I think I did it to form a small amount of insulation from the heat in summer, and cold in winter, No idea if it's made any difference though!

If you are hoping to move the container from time to time, (and it is large), you could use broken polestyrene in the bottom, to keep the weight of soil down.

5. steven118