sail shades

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by madflower, Aug 20, 2006.

1. madflower

madflower Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody put a sail shade in their garden? I have a hot south facing garden, I'm a newbie to gardening and discovering a lot of what i like are shade loving, any other suggestions to create shade?

2. Victoria

Victoria Lover of Exotic Flora

Lady of Leisure
    Ratings:
    +55,162
    Hi, madflower. The "real" sail shades can be expensive, albeit glamorous! Our kitchen patio is a sun trap with two white walls of the house bordering it and a large "bread oven" on the third wall ... the fourth side being south facing! :eek:

We have bought inexpensive 90% blockout (you can get 70% and 100% here also green gardening mesh. A roll 1.5 metres wide and 10 metres long gave us two "sails" and I think it was about 12 Euros (about �£8.40). Buying it "loose", cut for you off a roll is cheaper.

It certainly does the trick with, keeps plants and the kitchen cooler. We put it up around May and take it down about October, roll it up and put it away. This is our second year ... so down to �£4.20 for the luxury of shade!

Possibly B&Q or other garden nursery would sell it ... worth checking into.

PS And the plants on the patio are loving it! :D

3. jazid

jazid Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Madflower. easiest and most enjoyable way to make shade is to plant a tree or six. Magic!!

4. madflower

Ratings:
    +0
    Thankyou for the replys, great idea about the block out Lady, you must have to work real hard to stop everything from frazzling [​IMG] Would love to plant a tree Jazid but have a tinee tiny space [​IMG] , have you had a look at the pics of Banannamans trees? [​IMG] absoultely lush, made me green. I have an acer in a pot, does that count? [​IMG]

5. UsedtobeDendy

UsedtobeDendy Gardener

Retired teacher and gardener
    Ratings:
    +172
    If it's tall enough to sit under!! :D