salvia wishes collection overwintering help

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by paultall90, Oct 19, 2024 at 8:35 AM.

1. paultall90

paultall90 Gardener

Ratings:
    +8
    hi
    This is my first year growing salvias. I have read a few articles that say I would be fine leaving them outside if I mulched them. I wonder if this is true for the Leeds area of the UK. Also, is this the same for Salvia Amistad?

2. NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
    Ratings:
    +22,870
    Depends on which salvias you've got. Some are very hardy others require a frost free greenhouse.
    Down here I take cuttings of Amistad or put the pot in the greenhouse, I take cuttings of S involuctra and S confertifolia. S guaranitica "Black and Blue" has lived outside for the past 10 years, but sometimes doesn't reappear above ground until June. S vitifolia, S corrugata, S minata and S blepharophylla tend to come through in an unheated greenhouse. I find S atrocyanea, the various S microphylla and S greggi to be hardy with good drainage.
    I've had mixed success with S stolonifera this year it took until mid Seotember to appear and shows no sign of flowering, might lift a bit and pot up for the greenhouse.
    Sometimes I find it's the winter wet rather than the cold is the problem also in spring I have to keep an eye on slugs and snails munching the new shoots and that's why Amistad lives in a pot.

• Informative Informative x 1
    • NigelJ

NigelJ Total Gardener

Mad Scientist
      Ratings:
      +22,870
      I see you refer to Salvia wishes collection in the title, I haven't grown any of this series; from what I can see they should be hardy in a mild area with a thick mulch (note mulch makes a good shelter for slugs)
      In a colder spot (like Leeds) the advice is to lift and overwinter in pots, frost free and fairly dry until growth appears in spring.

• paultall90

paultall90 Gardener

Ratings:
      +8
      Thanks for the reply.