Sciarid fly help

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by Wardy, Oct 22, 2015.

1. Wardy

Wardy Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
    Hi I have a young mango tree (about 35cm tall) that I have been growing for 8 months or so in my bedroom. I have what I think is sciarid fly living in the compost for many months now and they mainly only stay around the mango tree. I put a fairly thick layer of perlite on top of the compost months ago and this helped a bit but not much. I end up just clapping them to death when they fly out of the pot but this is becoming extremely annoying. I also put up a sticky tape trap thing but this only catches a few.

The mango tree did get a fungal disease which I treated but it keeps sprouting new tiny leaves but they keep falling off which might be due to the larvae attacking the roots and stunting it's growth.

I have had some ideas about getting rid of them but I'm not sure if they would damage the plant but at this point I might just grow another mango tree from seed and just see if this works on the infected one. I was thinking of taking the perlite off and putting vaseline on the compost to stop the larvae coming out and adults laying eggs. I would do it as close to the stem as possible but not touching it as it might burn it or damage it.

Or I have a Resolva bug killer spray which I could try diluting with water and use it as a soil soak.

Or putting a clear bag around the whole plant to see if it suffocates the flies but this will probably not work although it would stop the flies laying eggs in my other plants. I'm running out of ideas to try so any ideas will be very appreciated.

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,892