Screening a fence

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Aarron, May 20, 2010.

1. Aarron

Aarron Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Being a complete newbie to the world of gardening I am learning every day, I am currently in the process of patching up a lawn to the house I just purchased.

I am looking to add some screening to the back fence. As you can see in the picture, its a small fence and our neighbour has something similar.

My questions is how am I best to attach the screening? Do I use staples or is there something a little easier? Also, do you need to use a certain material, I like the look of this - http://www.diy.com/diy/jsp/bq/nav.j...refview=search&ts=1274395771278&isSearch=true - but will need to get a more made toe measure one.

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

[​IMG]

2. Sussexgardener

Sussexgardener Gardener

Ratings:
    +41
    Would it not be easier and more attractive to the eye to grow some climbers up a trellis attached to the fence? With the right plants, you'd have that area covered in a year and if you pick some evergreen climbers, colour in winter too.

I've seen that willow screening attached with everything from staples, through to cable ties!

3. Aarron

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply... I like your idea, which I have thought about doing, but I have absolutely no idea where to start with a trellis and how climber plants work, do they need to go in the ground first etc??? I have ordered a book on gardening from Amazon so hoping this answers all this silly little questions I have.

With a trellis, can you buy them with the plants already covering them rather than having to grow them from scratch? Really want to cover that back fence.

Many thanks

4. AirAssisted

AirAssisted Gardener

Ratings:
    +0