seed or turf

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by charlton, Jul 16, 2008.

1. charlton

charlton Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi all i'm completely new to gardening, i managed to grow a new lawn in my back garden last year from seed and it turned out quite well. last year though i just went on advice from a neighbour so i thought i'd ask on here before i start my front garden, at the moment its just a mass of weeds and looks awful, is there some threads i could read for further advice ? Should i use seed again or turf ? Have i left it to late in the year to lay one this year ? Thanks in advance

charlton

2. Kristen

Kristen Under gardener

Ratings:
    +12,668
    Turf is instant, but relatively expensive.

Seed takes longer, but is cheaper.

You can turf it any time of the year, but obviously if you do it in High Summer you are going to have to work hard to keep it alive. A hose pipe ban, if one happened, will be a bit of a bore!

Personally I would kill the current weeds with Roundup. They will all slowly go yellow (over about 2 weeks) and that will probably look worse than whatever you have got now! I'd then treat anything that was still green (i.e. if you have missed any bits).

(Don't get Roundup on any plant that you want to keep, and watch out for any that may be on the bottom of your shoes after you've treated the area; once its dried [a few minutes] it won't pose any real threat to anything, except fish - so watch out for any pond if you have one)

I would then prepare the ground, get it nice and smooth [get a ladder, put some bricks / weights on it to weigh it down a bit, tie a rope around the top / bottom rung, and drag it back and forth. If the area is tiny, or already flat-as-a-billiard-table ;) then this may be overkill!!]

Personally I would seed it, so that means leaving it like that until the Autumn. That will give you a chance to get rid of any new weeds that spring up. But it may be too bland in the meantime?