seed potatoes

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by josephine, Jan 5, 2007.

1. josephine

josephine Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all, as a complete novice i have bought some seed potatoes maris piper and desiree.
    I've put them into old egg boxes to chit(according to my old veg book) and put them in an unheated greenhouse.Is that correct?.
    We have an area at the bottom of our garden approx 25ftx35ft and o/h is going to build me 6 raised beds to grow our veggies etc.I hope my friends on gc will come to my assistance.
    Boy oh boy do i need all the help i can get. [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,117
    Hi josephine, I'm sure others will know more than me about this, but they are both maincrop varieties, not really intended for growing early new pots.
    They take longer to mature than the "earlies" and as such are usually planted a bit later and dug about september onwards.
    There fore I dont think chitting is nesessary

3. josephine

josephine Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks pete,i'll take that on board,can you suggest an earlier variety to try,maybe for salad new potatoes.

4. pete

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,117
    Not really you need the veg growers in here.
    A good LATE salad potato that is the only one I grow these days is "pink fir apple", its a main crop that lasts through the winter, and is very similar to new pots when cooked, its sometimes in supermarkets in limited supply, strange Knobbly tubers.

5. Markr

Markr Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Aaron pilot would be my first choice, not as fast as the newer spuds, but for taste [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

6. walnut

walnut Gardener

Ratings:
    +15
  7. Blackthorn

Blackthorn Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Haven't tried that one markr, sounds like a tasty one. Is it a first early and where do you get it?