Seeding potatos

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Herb, Nov 1, 2005.

1. Herb

Herb Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I've followed instructions on how to grow your own potatos by placing them in egg boxes on your window sil until they produce shoots. The trouble is the shoots seemed to have stopped growing the the tops of the potatos are going green. Is this normal or are they simply going mouldy?

[ 01. November 2005, 08:10 PM: Message edited by: Herb ]

2. pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
    Ratings:
    +92,076
    Herb, its not a good time of the year to be thinking about planting potatos. What have you in mind as opposed to growing them on, at this time of the year?

3. Herb

Herb Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I have to say Im a complete beginner at gardening and was simply following a guide in a sunday newspaper supplement. I was hoping for some new potatos early next year but you say its the wrong time to plant? When is the earliest I can?

4. Daisies

Daisies Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,686
    Next Spring - that is March at the very earliest!
    You also need to check out the different kinds. There are first earlies that you plant in early spring and harvest about eight weeks later, second earlies you plant a few weeks later, cropping eight weeks or so after that and main crop that you plant in June and crop in September or so. (Have I got this about right, folks!?)

What you are doing is called 'chitting' the potatoes and once the chits, or sprouts, have got to about 1-2 inches long, they should be planted deep in soil.

There is a suggestion that if you plant pots about September in a sheltered place, maybe in a grow bag, you can have nice new spuds for Christmas day. Haven't tried it myself (yet!).

5. Palustris

Palustris Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +3,071