seedlings

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by RONO, Apr 11, 2005.

1. RONO

RONO Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    hi new member could some one help
    i planted some tomato seeds in a propagater
    4 days ago they have come up to about 2inches but very tiny leaves have i over watered they look very spindley rono

2. Mrs cloudy

Mrs cloudy Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Goodness that was quick. Are they getting enough light? Lack of light can make plants spindly. Good luck

3. RONO

RONO Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    THANK YOU MRS CLOUDY I AM A NOVICE GARDENER REF
    THE TOMATOES I THINK I SHOULD START AGAIN AS WHEN IREAD THE PACKET IT SAID PLANT 5 CM DEEP I NOT NOTICING THIS SOWED ON THE TOP REGARDS RONO

4. Ambersparkle

Ambersparkle Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Dear Rono,
    I should bucket that lot, and as you say, sow again, deeper this time,should be okay then. good luck!

5. Bayleaf

Bayleaf Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    No need to chuck them! Seeds tend to "work" themselves to a comfortable level - if they had been planted at an unviable depth - they wouldn't sprout! Replant with soil up to first set of leaves - the stems will throw out roots & make stronger plants. Take this is as your opportunity to "prick out" i.e. plant into individual 8cm pots. (as a rule this is usually done when there are 2 sets of leaves) When you come to plant tomatoes out into their final growing places, should always plant up to the first set of leaves - more roots = greater take up of nutrients = stronger plants. As Cloudy says - make sure they are in a really bright place (West or south facing windowsill is good) Plant out end May or sooner if you don't get late frosts.

6. Hannah

Hannah Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Rono,

How are your tomatoes coming along? I planted some cherry tumbling toms last week, I wondered how long yours took to come up?