Seriously overgrown area of garden

Discussion in 'NEW Gardeners !' started by Sydney Carton, Jun 9, 2013.

1. Sydney Carton

Sydney Carton Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, all

Complete novice here. Don't know a shrub from a bulb! Moved into a house, and there is a sizeable sectioned-off area at the end of the garden - about 15yds by 20yds - which is seriously overgrown. Hasn't been touched for around three years or more. There are a couple of trees, but the rest is green stuff which has grown out of control! There appears to be no grass, just plain earth underneath, which is quite uneven under foot.

I don't want to pay a gardener to clear it, so I'm going to attempt it myself. I have no tools and not the first idea how to begin clearing it. Ideally, I'd like to turn it into a meadow-like area for the kids to play around in.

Where the hell do I begin? What tools should I buy? Would I need any other equipment?

Attached is a photo of one half of the area. I am assuming these are just high weeds. (I really am that much of a novice!)

The other half is comprised of the trees, underneath which is a mixture of weeds and bare earth.

Thanks so much for any help.

Attached Files:

2. Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +53,889
    Welcome to Gardeners Corner Sydney. :)

I think the best thing to do is clear the whole lot and start again with the exception of what lies round the edges of the garden. At this point it looks like you have a huge crop of nettles and little else, so start by clearing those, cover yourself up though, you don't want to be stung!