Silver birch

Discussion in 'Trees' started by wkdwhite, Dec 31, 2006.

1. wkdwhite

wkdwhite Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I have purchased a bare root sliver birch tree that i am told is 3 years old.
    It is about 3 foot high but the bark is not silver it looks coppery brown! Is this normal? I was expecting a lovely silver bark, but was wondering if the bark will go silver as the tree matures, or have i been sold something else as a silver birch?

2. geoffhandley

geoffhandley Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Yes they develop the silvery bark as they get older. I did not even bother getting them at 3 years of age. They grow so fast you can buy them as whips that are really cheap.

3. wkdwhite

wkdwhite Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Can you point me in the right direction to buy one like that?

How quickly will mine grow then?
    Sorry im new to this with trees and dont really know much about them :confused:

4. geoffhandley

geoffhandley Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Crikey someone else who is fed up with what is on offer on TV! Just broke off to watch the fireworks.
    Try this one
    http://www.heathwood.co.uk/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabid=1
    It is one of my local nurseries and I have bought a lot of hedging from them over the years ....and some trees...and they were always excellent quality.

5. Daisies

Daisies Total Gardener

Ratings:
    +2,686
    I bought mine in a pot from a GC about 6 years ago. It was about head height and cost �£14.99 or so. Now it is wide enough to hug (!!) and is above the level of the gutters! It started as a junior in the bark department and is now a lovely silvery cracked appearance!