Slugs nematodes - Any advice for application

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by Aldo, May 14, 2020.

1. Aldo

Aldo Super Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,319
    A few days ago I received nematodes and it is my first time applying them.
    For now they are in the fridge, but I guess I need to use them soon.
    Tiger slugs are a big problem in the garden, but I read that pellets also kill wildlife, so I was trying alternatives.
    One big problem is that the forecast is dry weather for the next weeks and have no direct water to the garden. So I guess that, if I need to keep it moist it will mean quite a few jerry cans per week just for that.

I was thinking of applying it mainly to shrubs and other "slug friendly" area around my vegetables and raised beds.
    Does it make sense?
    Any advice about applying it so it works?

Thanks,
    Aldo

• Like Like x 1
    • Mike Allen

Mike Allen Total Gardener

Retired. Plant Pathologist.
      Ratings:
      +6,098
      Hi Aldo.

I am by no means an authority on slugs and snails. I do however find them to be interesting study subjects.

In my encounters with both. I prefer a liquid rather than pellets. 'Slug kill' This can be sprayed over plants and on fences, very useful for snails. Isn't it the Tiger slug that actually is the 'Goody' as it wil devour other slugs.

Using a liquid especially in the GH it is ideal for those baby soft shelled snails. In all my years of gardening etc. I have never resorted to using nematodes. Perhaps two points come to mind. From scientific literature I deduce that more often than not, the use of nematodes is really a waste of money. Then the matter of pellets being fatal to wildlife. Despite all the who-ha, very little evidence has been produced to prove this point. The natural world has many amazing secrets. It is unlikely that a member of wildlife would settle down to dish of well poisoned delights.