Small Roots on Tomato Plants

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Fred Clarke, Sep 18, 2023.

1. Fred Clarke

Fred Clarke Life's too short for unnamed tomatoes.

Retired
    Ratings:
    +68
    I have been growing tomatoes for 50 years. These days, I raise my tomatoes in Quadgrow units inside and outside my greenhouse. I have been well-impressed with the Quadgrow's since I bought them.

This year though, has been an abysmal crop-wise but I think I have found the reason why.

Yesterday, I removed plants and noticed the small roots, perhaps only 9-10 inches long. This is very unusual as in the Quadgrow's, they have usually been 2-3 feet long, having grown into the reserve water container. No wonder my crop was so poor.

There was no evidence of the roots having been eaten or disease and despite my searching the internet, I have not found a logical explanation. Can anyone here suggest anything?

My toms were grown in homemade compost made from bought multi-purpose, some bark chippings, grit and garden compost with a good dusting of blood, fish and bone meal. I have used this combo for many years without problem. I then feed with a propriety tomato feed and seaweed liquid. I look forward to your comments. Thanks.

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,690
    I had issues last year with tomatoes in containers, I believe it was the peat free compost I used. This year I've gone back to growing in the soil and had a great crop.

I had an octo grow setup a few years ago but gave up on it after problems with salt build ups. I had to keep flushing it.

Do your plants look stunted, yellow? A photo would help.

3. JWK

Ratings:
    +48,690
    What is the idea behind adding bark chippings? Surely they take up valuable space in your pots?

4. Fred Clarke

Retired
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thanks for your response.

Sorry about no photos as I decided, not to compost the plants (thinking of diseases) and let the council deal with them.