Sodium chlorate idiocy

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by geraldthehamster, May 18, 2010.

1. geraldthehamster

geraldthehamster Gardener

Ratings:
    +2
    Having cut down an unruly and unwanted pampas grass to a stump" about two feet high and at least that across, I thought it a good idea to pour half a watering can of sodium chlorate solution onto it.

Two of the various bushes growing with a couple of feet of it have now died. I put this at first down to the late frosts, but I think in fact I've just been incredubly stupid, in not realising that the weedkiller would penetrate through the pampas stump and into the soil, affecting any roots it encountered. At least, that's what I think has happened; what does the panel think?

I said I was a novice.

I should add that I did this last month, before the use of sodium cholrate became illegal (which it did on 10th May, as I understand it) ...

Cheers
    Richard

2. Flinty

Flinty Gardener

Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Richard

Half a watering can = about 5 litres and I would have expected the root ball of a big pampas grass to have absorbed most of that. So I'm just a wee bit doubtful that the sodium chlorate could cause so much collateral damage to other, well established shrubs.

But, you're right - it could be the cause and so I think your best option is to search on line for information about how long sodium chlorate remains effective in the soil. Then you'll need to wait before replanting and for good measure, I would add as much new soil and compost as possible to the affected area.

3. geraldthehamster

Ratings:
    +2