Soil question ???

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by jasonlamont, Jun 25, 2011.

1. jasonlamont

jasonlamont Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Dear ALL

I am a newbie to this gardening malarkey ( my spuds are yum ) but need to know what do i do with the soil / compost from garden centre that i grew my potatoes in ???

If the answer is plant more stuff in it !! then i shall toddle off to my corner with a sheepish grin :-)

2. Bilbo675

Bilbo675 Total Gardener

Gardener & Plant Sales
    Ratings:
    +6,654
    Once the potatoes have finished they will have taken a lot of nutrients out of the compost so I personally just dig it into the veg patch, put it in the compost bin or use it as a mulch..:thumb:

3. PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +4,015
    Two options.

As Bilbo says whatever you grow always takes a lot of nurishment out of the compost so most people buy new compost and dig the old into the border or veg patch to improve the soil.

But I live in Yorkshire and am mean. So I reuse the compost and simply replace the nutrient that has been taken out. I would use Miraclegrow for green veg or a tomato fertiliser for tomatoes or any other fruit. As potatoes are swollen underground stems I think I would use Miraclegrow for them too. As a principle I would feed any plants in containers even if they are in new compost - the feed doesn't last very long.

Being mean I don't even buy a new car when it runs out of petrol - I just replace what has been used. :D

• Like Like x 5
    • daitheplant

daitheplant Total Gardener

Retired
      Ratings:
      +2,881
      Sound advice there from Peter, but don`t plant tomatoes in compost which you`ve grown potatoes in. And vice versa.:dbgrtmb:

• Like Like x 1
      • PeterS

PeterS Total Gardener

Retired
        Ratings:
        +4,015
        Why not Dai? I am sure you are right, I don't grow veg but I always like to try and understand what's going on.