Some first vegetable growing questions.

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by Nibbles, May 16, 2010.

1. Nibbles

Nibbles Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    So i am fairly new to having an organised garden, in the past it has all been pretty slap dash and simple. But now we have a very large and nice garden i want to start growing my own vegetables and have an actual garden bed.

What i would like to know(amongst other things) would i be better off building a raised bed on top of the lawn or be better off digging the lawn up? And if i do a raised bed is it ok to put a lining down first on top of the grass or would i be better off just doing it directly on top? Baring in mind that as i type i can see at least 3 rabbits in my yard and i know there are more, and there is also at least one mole somewhere.
    So i know i will have to protect my veggies no matter what i do are there any good tips on keeping the rabbits out?

Also as i am new to this European climate is a tunnel a good option to use or not really necessary? I gather they are useful as it hasn't been the warmest spring so far.

I'm sure i have more questions but these are the ones that come to me now.

2. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,126
    Hi Nibbles & [​IMG].. Firstly I think you need to decide where you want your veg plot & then erect some rabbit proof fencing all around the edges.. Whether you do a raised bed system as well is up to you I think..
    Rabbit fencing need only be 3ft high with 6in buried at about 45 degrees angle into the ground outward of the plot.
    We have had a very effective Rabbit Fence for the last 25 years right round the veg plot perimeter up at the farm. The netting size must not be larger than 1"
    otherwise baby Rabbits can actually squeeze through it. Chicken wire is good & if you buy on line or from a farmers outlet is shouldn't be too expensive..