Steve McQueen the West Highland White Terrier.

Discussion in 'Pets Corner' started by theconsistantgardener, May 5, 2009.

1. theconsistantgardener

theconsistantgardener Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am new to gardening but I have got the bug right now!
    I moved into my house in October, part of the draw was the large garden it was a mud patch full of rubbish and rubble but I began to work at Easter and it has come on so far now and I cant spend a day without going outside! I have landscaped it, put in a flower bed with a nice dry stone wall, fenced it with gates and just laid a lawn â?? still lots to do.
    I have a West Highland White Terrier who is itching to get out in the garden from her current territory (yard). I want to let the dogs in the garden when we eat our tea outside or have a bbq, it would seem wrong to have to leave them locked away in the yard.
    I noticed however in the yard that sometimes she goes to the bottom of the fence, scratches the concrete then walks off. I always wondered why but now I have a lovely piquet fence and a lush lawn under it I can see what she is doing.
    I know the minute she gets in the garden she will scratch every surface near the fence, as soon as she realises its soft she wont stop digging until she is through!
    Next door have guinea pigs and its in her breed (and nature) to want to get at them.
    Is there anything I can do to stop her from a) getting out? and b) ruining the lawn trying?
    I thought about stapling chicken wire to the bottom rail on the fence and pegging it into the ground but even if it keeps her in she will still probably ruin the lawn trying.
    Am I best to just give up and realise that nice gardens and dogs donâ??t mix! I also have a poodle who will just happily sunbathe!

2. Carole2009

Carole2009 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0