Strawberry help please.

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Nightingale, May 11, 2011.

1. Nightingale

Nightingale Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    I'm a complete beginner so hoping that someone will be able to help me. :help:

I have bought some strawberry plants, they are in tiny pots and sitting in my new plastic greenhouse (I really haven't a clue)!!

I want to plant them into a container so that I can put them on the patio
    my questions are -

* can I plant a number of plants into a medium size container (how many could I plant together)

* do they trail and therefore would I need a tall container
    or would they be ok in a long window box and again how shoud I space them.

Thanks in anticipation.

:dbgrtmb:

• Like Like x 1
    • Daytona650

Daytona650 Gardener

Ratings:
      +1
      Plant them about 8" apart anywhere. They look after themselves as long as you keep them watered. They'll send runners out that grow into new plants towards the end of the season, so cut these off or pin them into the earth for new plants next year. The plants will need replacing every 3 years or so, so its worth letting a few runners form new plants.
      Oh, net them too or the birds will take every last fruit.

• Like Like x 1
      • Lad

Lad Gardener

Senior Consultant
        Ratings:
        +46
        and feed with Tomorite, when fruit are formed.

• Like Like x 1
        • Fidgetsmum

Fidgetsmum Total Gardener

Ratings:
          +865
          Feed them every 10 days or so and water them well, but don't let them get waterlogged. As they're new, 'baby' plants, don't expect to get many (if indeed any) fruit from them this year - they'll produce a few more next year, even better the year after and will fruit (as has already been said) for about 3 years after that.