Suggestions for sunny flower bed

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Sallykent, Sep 5, 2010.

1. Sallykent

Sallykent Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I am a complete beginner as a gardner. I have a very sunny raised flower bed (6ft by 10ft) that needs some suggestions please. At present it has some lobia, but all the pansies and viola I planted in spring have died off.

I would like some colour through September and the coming autumn months. Also I would like to know when it would be best to plant blubs, because come spring time I would love to see a mass of daffodils, blue bells and lily of the vally?

I've just finished off digging out the dead plants, not sure if that was a good move or not as wondered if they might just die back and then spring into life next year? The plan was to put some fresh peat and prepare the soil before planting again, so again advise would be much appreciated please?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks Sally

2. Lorna

Lorna Gardener

Ratings:
    +49
    Do you want perennials that come back year after year, Sally, or do you want annuals that will die after one season?

I'm not well up on annuals, but you have a good choice of perennials. There's a huge range of asters, for example. I love heleniums and there are some phlox paniculata varieties that are late flowerers. Crocosmia is just getting into its stride here in Cumbria, and of course there are dahlias, but I tend to treat them as annuals as I've had very little success trying to overwinter the corms. Japanese anemones are also great autumn flowers. I'm sure you'll get lots of other suggestions too. If you want to plant perennials you're a bit late to have them flowering well this year, but they'd be great for next year.

As for bulbs, the garden centres are starting to be full of them, so now is the time (or maybe just a bit later - what does everyone else think?)

3. Phil A

Phil A Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Sally,