1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tagging problem

Discussion in 'Site Feedback/Bugs' started by Scrungee, Apr 22, 2017.

  1. Scrungee

    Scrungee Well known for it

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13,239
    Location:
    Central England on heavy clay soil
    Ratings:
    +21,011
    Normally starting with the @, such as ...

    @scr

    produces:

    tag1.png
    and then clicking on my avatar part of the prompt correctly produces @Scrungee

    But when attempting to tag misterQ ...

    @mis

    produces:

    tag2.png

    But clicking on the same area produces @mister - missing out the Q

    I wondered whether it was that username prompting doesn't work with users who haven't an avatar? But checked with Steve R and it does work.

    There seems to be some sort of issue here
     
  2. Zigs

    Zigs Naughty Ginger Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45,424
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Historic Building Conservator
    Location:
    GCHQ Zone 9a Dorzet
    Ratings:
    +61,155
    I've had simliar problems :scratch:

    @scr

    Is all I get when I click on your name :scratch:
     
  3. Scrungee

    Scrungee Well known for it

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13,239
    Location:
    Central England on heavy clay soil
    Ratings:
    +21,011
    Click on my avatar pic to the left of my username after inputting the first few characters and then it should autocomplete the remainder
     
  4. Zigs

    Zigs Naughty Ginger Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45,424
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Historic Building Conservator
    Location:
    GCHQ Zone 9a Dorzet
    Ratings:
    +61,155
  5. Scrungee

    Scrungee Well known for it

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13,239
    Location:
    Central England on heavy clay soil
    Ratings:
    +21,011
    @Zigs Ask @wiseowl how he is getting tagging autocomplete to work for him.
     
  6. Scrungee

    Scrungee Well known for it

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13,239
    Location:
    Central England on heavy clay soil
    Ratings:
    +21,011

    That is exactly what I have been trying, and whilst it may always work for you, it does not work for me with some user names, as the screenshots I've posted demonstrate.

    P.S. and Zigs was not one of them as you will see that I tagged him in my post above yours.
     
  7. Zigs

    Zigs Naughty Ginger Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45,424
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Historic Building Conservator
    Location:
    GCHQ Zone 9a Dorzet
    Ratings:
    +61,155
  8. shiney

    shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    36,982
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired - Last Century!!!
    Location:
    Herts/Essex border. Zone 8b
    Ratings:
    +57,074
    I've had this sort of problem for a long time but have found a way around it. Normally you type @ and followed by the member's name. With some of them I just need to type the first three letters and then click on their avatar (it pops up after three letters) and their whole name comes up and it produces the tag.

    If this doesn't happen then I just type @ followed by their full name and click on the avatar and it always works.

    I always have to type the whole of Woo's name but only three letters of ARMANDII's :noidea:

    I don't worry about it and just accept that there's a glitch somewhere (usually think it's on my computer :)).
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Fat Controller

      Fat Controller Cuddly Scottish Admin! Staff Member

      Joined:
      May 5, 2012
      Messages:
      14,680
      Gender:
      Male
      Occupation:
      Public Transport
      Location:
      At me 'puter, GCHQ Ashford Office, Middlesex
      Ratings:
      +23,531
      Operating systems and browsers being used please?
       
    • shiney

      shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 3, 2006
      Messages:
      36,982
      Gender:
      Male
      Occupation:
      Retired - Last Century!!!
      Location:
      Herts/Essex border. Zone 8b
      Ratings:
      +57,074
      W7 IE11 :dbgrtmb:

      When I say I've had the problem for a long time I mean at least a couple of years. As it's so easy to just type in the recipients full name I'm not bothered about it.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • wiseowl

        wiseowl Friendly Owl Admin Staff Member

        Joined:
        Oct 29, 2006
        Messages:
        31,604
        Gender:
        Male
        Occupation:
        Philosophy of people
        Location:
        The Garden Of England
        Ratings:
        +50,797
        Lest said soonest mended:mad::mute:
         
      • Scrungee

        Scrungee Well known for it

        Joined:
        Dec 5, 2010
        Messages:
        13,239
        Location:
        Central England on heavy clay soil
        Ratings:
        +21,011

        Chrome + Android 6.0.1, Chrome + Android 7.0, Chrome + Win 10 and MS Edge + Win 10 all work perfectly.

        But the problems above occur with Win10 + IE11
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Fat Controller

          Fat Controller Cuddly Scottish Admin! Staff Member

          Joined:
          May 5, 2012
          Messages:
          14,680
          Gender:
          Male
          Occupation:
          Public Transport
          Location:
          At me 'puter, GCHQ Ashford Office, Middlesex
          Ratings:
          +23,531
          @Scrungee - there is something in my head that this was a problem a few years back when we first migrated to this forum software, and then the problem was eventually worked out; however, if I a correct, it affected everyone and not just selected OS/browsers.

          I suspect what we have here is a problem similar to a web based portal that we have to use at work - it will only work up to IE9 without some user intervention; IE10 & IE11 require the site address to be added to the 'Compatibility Mode' list within IE - - might be worth trying that actually, and see if it solves the problem?

          We've raised this in the office for @Webmaster to take up with the tech folks. Meantime, I would simply suggest that you don't use IE11 (is it even supported anymore?)
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • shiney

            shiney President, Grumpy Old Men's Club Staff Member

            Joined:
            Jul 3, 2006
            Messages:
            36,982
            Gender:
            Male
            Occupation:
            Retired - Last Century!!!
            Location:
            Herts/Essex border. Zone 8b
            Ratings:
            +57,074
            I'm a dinosaur, I'll keep using W7 and IE11 until they give out on me. The computer is last millennium and doing OK so far! :fingers crossed:
             
          • Zigs

            Zigs Naughty Ginger Admin Staff Member

            Joined:
            Jun 10, 2010
            Messages:
            45,424
            Gender:
            Male
            Occupation:
            Historic Building Conservator
            Location:
            GCHQ Zone 9a Dorzet
            Ratings:
            +61,155
            [​IMG]
             

          Share This Page