Taking Cuttings

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by carlnorwich, Jul 23, 2008.

1. carlnorwich

carlnorwich Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    I planted a new hedge using Buxus Sempervirums, it's getting on very well, however, I'd like to fill it out a bit.

Obviously I'm a complete novice asking this question :o, but, can I just take a cutting from the hedge, plant it, water it and hope for the best?

Thank you in advance.

2. tweaky

tweaky Gardener

Ratings:
    +3
    Hi carlnorwich

Semi hardwood cuttings. Either stick them in a pot with cutting compost and some sharp sand, or stick em in some soil in a shadyish place. Don't let them dry out.....some will live, some won't.

Semi hardwood is the bit that isn't brown, nor light green, probably last seasons growth yea. But it's pot luck in any case.:thumb:

Some people will suggest using rooting power, others will suggest a different medium of compost etc Why not take a few and treat them all differently to see which method works best for you.

Good luck anyway.:thumb:

3. Dave_In_His_Garden

Dave_In_His_Garden Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    I tried a few the other week - spirea, fuschia and azalea. The only one that doesn't seem to have taken is the fuschia. I literally just stuck them in pots with some rooting powder and cutting compost. So far, so good.

4. Helofadigger

Helofadigger Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Dave regarding fuschia cuttings I always cheat and put them in jars of water to root and it seems to work really well for me.Hel.xxx.

5. elliegreenwellie

elliegreenwellie Gardener

Ratings:
    +1