Temperature for tomatoes under cover?

Discussion in 'Poly-Tunnel Gardening' started by Emerion, May 1, 2024.

1. Emerion

Emerion Gardener

Ratings:
    +67
    I’ve been growing tomatoes for 25 years, and have found that they don’t need to be kept above 10°C at all times as is often stated. If that was the case, we couldn’t grow them in the UK, except in heated greenhouses. For example last year on one occasion, there was an overnight temperature low of 3°C at the end of June in my poly tunnel. There are always numerous occasions throughout the summer when it dips comfortably below 10°C. This is in SW Wales, which is reasonably mild. I have always assumed that it’s because they can tolerate some cooler temperatures, especially in the summer when the nights are shorter and it can’t have been very cold for very long. What I never become comfortable with is how early to plant them out. Our last frost date is officially early-mid May, although it’s almost always in mid-late April. I’m not sure how young tomato plants will tolerate temperatures which are above freezing, but still cold, when the nights are still reasonably long. I try to help them by not tying in the supporting strings just yet, so that I can put fleece or a bucket over them for the night if the met offices hits us with an unexpected colder snap. Any thoughts on your experience with spring planting out? How early do you risk it?

2. CarolineL

CarolineL Total Gardener

Retired Software engineer
    Ratings:
    +4,848