1. IMPORTANT - NEW & EXISTING MEMBERS

E-MAIL SERVER ISSUES

We are currently experiencing issues with our outgoing email server, therefore EXISTING members will not be getting any alert emails, and NEW/PROSPECTIVE members will not receive the email they need to confirm their account. This matter has been escalated, however the technician responsible is currently on annual leave.For assistance, in the first instance, please PM any/all of the admin team (if you can), alternatively please send an email to:

[email protected]

We will endeavour to help as quickly as we can.
    Dismiss Notice

Temporarily remove turf

Discussion in 'Lawns' started by Gn0me, Mar 9, 2017.

1. Gn0me

Gn0me Gardener

Ratings:
    +45
    I'm a total novice when it comes to the garden.

I've just had new turf put down. The problem is they've done it so that I can no longer open my garage side door!

[​IMG]

However, I realised that instead of getting them back again to create a clearway to open the door again I thought why not have the door open inwards instead. I then won't spoil the look of the lawn. I think I prefer it that way.

My problem is that for now I have to dig up some of the turf temporarily to open the door in the first place with the intention of putting it back once I've reveresed the door.

So my question is, do I dig up the turf the same way as the videos on YouTube etc. and for how long can it remain removed before putting it back?

It was only put down a week ago so I don't know if that changes things.

Thanks very much.

• Friendly Friendly x 2
    • JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +46,139
      Who did this!? I'd get them back in to lay the whole lawn properly, otherwise you are going to have other issues with rain running off and entering the garage. Have they also laid it above the DPC?

• Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 2
      • pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
        Ratings:
        +85,931