Tiny plug plants - when can I put them outside?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by karenmouse, Apr 7, 2011.

1. karenmouse

karenmouse Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks

I'm a real novice gardener and have just bought some trays of mini plugs from Tescos for (what I think is) a good price. They are the really tiny ones maybe an inch in size. I have repotted them into little 2" pots (it said to do so on the packaging) but I dont know if I can put them outside yet - I have one of those metal racks with a zip up plastic cover. Is it too early yet or will they be ok in there? The are all in trays sat on my dining table at the moment, so hoping to get an answer before dinnertime!

The plants are petunias, impatiens and geraniums. They'll eventually be going into hanging baskets.

My other question is - seedling compost - bought some from Wilkos the other day to pot these up and its rubbish compared with other stuff I've bought in the past. Anyone know any good CHEAP bags of seedling compost please? The Wikos stuff has so much rubbish in it its more like normal compost than seedling stuff.

Thank you :)

2. Alice

Alice Gardener

Retired
    Ratings:
    +81
    Hello Karen. I can't see where you live so don't know what your weather is like. (Go to UserCP - personal profile - enter a location and it will show in your posts.
    Those little plugs you bought are half hardy so they won't stand any frost. but if the weather is decent and mild, with care, you can put them outside now. If they'e been living indoors I would harden them off - put them out during the day and take them in at night - for a few days. After that they should be fine in your little plastic greenhouse as long as you keep an eye on the weather. Watch out for frost !
    You can buy a sheet of fleece for putting over them at night if it's cold.
    Hope your plugs make great baskets for you.

PS And make sure the plants don't fry in the greenhouse.

• Like Like x 1