To propogate very old rose.

Discussion in 'Roses' started by Drahcir, Jul 10, 2023.

1. Drahcir

Drahcir Gardener

Ratings:
    +1,006
    This rose has flowered in a garden (not mine) for perhaps 80 years. It has a beautiful yellow flower. It would be very, very good to be able to propogate it.

It is not doing well at all. It's lived in the NE corner pof a front garden, partially shaded by a tree. Perhaps this will be its last year. There is some new growth, and I'm wondering if there is sufficient to propogate it. I have pot of Clonex (shaken, not stirred, after its Yodel delivery). I have little knowledge. I have never taken rose cuttings, or many other cuttings at all, before.

Any observations, or advice on propogation? I have a window of time maybe four months long to do this.

Here are some pictures of the new growth that there is.
    P1080660.JPG P1080662.JPG P1080663.JPG P1080664.JPG P1080665.JPG
    P1080660.JPG

• Like Like x 1
    • Logan

Logan Total Gardener

housewife
      Ratings:
      +47,768
      Yes you can take cuttings, here's a few videos on it. I've followed him and I've been successful.

• Drahcir

Drahcir Gardener

Ratings:
      +1,006
      Thanks! I'll look.

As well as "how", I'm wondering "which bits to cut and when?" and "what is the likelihood of success?".

• JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
      +48,979
      I took grafts many years ago just for fun, seem to think it was a certain part of the stem and grafted using raffia to hold it in place. They took easily enough. Getting the right root stock may be a bigger problem. It's not a subject I know about.

• pete

pete Growing a bit of this and a bit of that....

Retired
      Ratings:
      +92,076
      I think they normally bud roses, a form of grafting but you only use one bud.
      I've managed it with apples and citrus plants but not tried roses.
      As @JWK says you will need rootstocks to do that.
      Cuttings are probably the best way in that case.