Tomato Diagnoses

Discussion in 'Edible Gardening' started by mfirth, Aug 6, 2010.

1. mfirth

mfirth Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am pretty new to the tomato growing game and (to my joy and surprise) they are/were doing really well however I have just noticed that they appear to have caught something :(.

There are 3 issues;

1. Brown and yellow edges to leaves (1.jpg and 2.jpg) mainly on the upper part of the plant.
    2. Curling leaves (3.jpg).
    3. Tiny black and white raised specks on the stems and branches (4.jpg) that appear to have very selectively weakened or killed sections of the plants.

Can anyone help me out with these?

Thanks in advance,
    Mark

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979
    It looks like a mineral deficiency, it's only mild so I wouldn't worry about it.

My guess is magnesium deficiency, quite often this appears when you start feeding the plant with a high-potassium tomato feed, up till then the plant looks nice and healthy. It is most common when using grow bags or containers. In severe cases premature defoliation can occur, but mild cases like yours are unlikely to affect yield or quality. It is easily treated by spraying with Epsom Salts (ask for Magnesium Sulphate at the chemists). Dissolve ½ oz in a pint of water (20g/litre) and apply as a foliar spray each day for a week.

3. mfirth

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply.

That is a relief. I was worried that the discolouration of the leaves was blight.

What you are saying would fit my situation. The "discolouration of the leaves" plants are in grow-bags and have recently been given some Tomorite. I am just about to go away for a few days, will they be ok until I get back?

Do you think that all 3 symptoms are down to magnesium deficiency as the plant with symptoms 2 and 3 is in a bed and has not been given Tomorite (as there is other veg in there as well)?

4. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,979