Tomato problems - caused by manure?

Discussion in 'Compost, Fertilisers & Recycling' started by paddy_rice, May 20, 2010.

1. paddy_rice

paddy_rice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I planted my tomato plants out about a week ago, in my polytunnel. Before doing so, I bought some manure from a local farm shop - it was advertised as 'well rotted manure' and I thought yep, that's what I need! I dug it into the soil, and also placed a handful under each tomato plant as I was planting them out.

Now my tomato plants are showing signs of deficiencies, and some leaves look very unhealthy - some are yellowing, some have small purple patches, and on one plant, the uppermost new leaves have turned black and crispy.

I'm wondering if this is the fault of the manure, because all the plants looked very healthy in their pots before they were planted out. I'm wondering especially if the manure wasn't as rotted as I was led to believe. Being a novice I'm not sure what well rotted manure is supposed to look like - the stuff I bought looks like clumps of poo with large bits of straw mixed in with it. The clumps are quite clayey and difficult to break up. It doesn't really smell of anything. The place we bought it from just had a massive pile of the stuff and we helped ourselves to it.

Having since read up about manure I'm now wondering whether the manure is too fresh and the roots of my tomato plants have been damaged by it.

Is this possible or likely? If so, what can be done about it now the plants are already in the ground? :scratch:

Any advice welcome...

Paddy

2. Marley Farley

Marley Farley Affable Admin! Staff Member

Grandmother Gardener Councillor Homemaker
    Ratings:
    +14,126