Total Beginner

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by johneva, Apr 1, 2010.

1. johneva

johneva Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I am a total beginner an know absolutly nothing about gardening, but need to do something with some large borders in our newly rented house.

I dont want to spend to much on this as its only a rented house an although we are planning on being here for 2 years its pointless spending to much time or money sorting this.

The borders are on the southside so get sun most of the day, when its sunny that is lol.

Would like something that will fillout really quick and easy to get the borders looking reasonable, they are totally bare near enough at the min and look a mess.

So cheap easy to maintain border, I know that is probley what alot of people want an its not that simple but it dont need to look great just better than mud with weeds growing.

Any advise on this would be great.
    Cheers
    John

2. NewbieGreen

NewbieGreen Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is at this time of year totally bare doesn't really mean a lot. What looks like a dead plant to spring to life soon.......in spring ;). Do you mean its just dirt by bare, or there are dead looking plants?

Oh and welcome to GC :D

3. johneva

Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah its all pretty much just dirt, all the old plants were ripped out by the guys doing the main refurb work of the house by the look of it so I gotta do something now there is a couple of bush type plants in there but 90% just empty dirt that needs something planting, just not got a clue whats going to make up an easy border to maintain and be cheap to do.

4. wiseowl

wiseowl Amiable Admin Staff Member

Philosophy of people
    Ratings:
    +91,667
    Hi Johneva It depends on what you want in your borders, I would respectfully suggest you could go down the Perennial route,hope this is of some help to you:)