total novice - ??cabbage/carrot root fly

Discussion in 'Pests, Diseases and Cures' started by isobel, May 31, 2011.

1. isobel

isobel Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm completely new to gardening so please forgive my ignorance!

I decided that growing some vege with the kids would be fun to try this year, however, I have got completely carried away. I had no idea how addictive it would be!:)

I thought all was going well.

I am growing all sorts in a hotch potch collection of tubs, grow bags, bin bags, raised beds and have even stolen the kids old sand pit!

I sowed a fee brussel sprouts in a little pot and the seedlings are looking a bit sad so I had a little dig around and noticed a few little white worm/maggots in the soil. There also appear to be a few in a raised bed where I have planted carrots and sprouting broccili.
    I also had some supermarket herb plants in a pot that weren't thriving so I have discarded them. I thought this was just because they were rubbish shop plants and also the pot was water logged as I had forgotten to drill holes! (told you I'm a novice!!):heehee: I noticed when I lifted the herbs (parlsey, basil and coriander) that there were some tiny flies in the soil.

Anyway, apologies for the waffle. Is this root fly? If so can I do anything? Will it spread to other pots? Should I pull things up and start again? Do I need to chuck the potting compost? I'm assuming that my courgettes, tomatoes, chillis, peppers etc will be ok but will all my root vege, cabbages etc be at risk?

Thanks for any advice and hope my questions aren't too silly!

2. JWK

JWK Gardener Staff Member

Ratings:
    +48,989
    Hello Isobel and welcome to the forum.