Transplanting mature annuals?

Discussion in 'General Gardening Discussion' started by Lynsey, Jul 27, 2013.

1. Lynsey

Lynsey Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +1
    Dear all,

Sorry for another question that must seem a bit silly but I'm a complete novice so please bear with me!
    My flower bed is full of calendula, amaranthus, cornflower, dahlia and african daisies. When I planted them I think I put far too many plants in because they seem to be fighting for space. Also, now that they have matured the heights are not as I anticipated so I have very tall flowers in front and small ones in the back. I've dug a new flower bed which I am going to fill with a couple of young amaranthus and would like to transplant some of the flowers in my first bed. Is it possible to do this now they are mature? Sorry again for the stupid questions and thanks in advance for your help, Lynsey

2. clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
    +19,596
    Its not a daft question. At least its not to me.

I only have real experience of two of the flowers on your list, calendula and african daisies (which I presume are osteospermum).

Personally, I'd move them if you want to, but, first I'd cut any open flowers heads off, because they'll die anyway and there's no point (in my opinion) in let the plant expend energy there after the move. A very thorough soaking would be in order first, then again after the move, and I wouldn't take loads out (in case you have less luck than I've had when moving plants about).

• Like Like x 1
    • Lynsey

Lynsey Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
      +1
      Great thanks Clueless1. I decided to bite the bullet and go for it so I'll let you all know how I get on. So far so good but they've only been in the ground half an hour ha ha!

• clueless1

clueless1 member... yep, that's what I am:)

Ratings:
      +19,596

Just don't let the soil dry out for today and they should be fine.

• Like Like x 1
      • Kristen