Transplanting

Discussion in 'Gardening Discussions' started by AndrewBarratt, May 27, 2014.

1. AndrewBarratt

AndrewBarratt Gardener

Ratings:
    +55
    Hi folks,
    I'm no expert, most of what I plant seems to grow and I have my successes and failiures like everyone else but there is one thing that always puzzles me.
    When transplanting we're always told water well then prepare the new hole or pot, take out with care to avaid damaging the roots and stem, place and back fill in its new home.
    However by watering prior to removing from the cell or pot it makes it far more tricky to tease out of its cell and has to be prized out with a table fork or knife invariable damaging some roots. Allowing the soil to dry in the cell or pot prior to the transplant means the young plant comes out cleanly with the roots un-disturbed as a neat cube around the roots.
    So why are we advised to water first, surely watering after is a less risky option - or am I missing something?

2. Hairy Gardener

Hairy Gardener Official Ass. (as given by Shiney)

Official Ass.
    Ratings:
    +1,468
    I find that just a light watering the day before transplanting, helps keep the rootball together when moving from a cell tray or pot. I think it is advised so as to help prevent transplant shock, also makes sure that roots are ready to take up more.

There will be others along with greater knowledge than I, but thats is my take on it.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Sheal

Sheal Total Gardener

Ratings:
      +53,894
      If they are young plants or seedlings I never water first. If they are going into larger pots then I water the soil in the new pot first and then make a hole in the soil for the plant. If the plant is larger and going into the ground I water the hole after digging it out and water again when the plant is in.

• Like Like x 1
      • ARMANDII

ARMANDII Low Flying Administrator Staff Member

Ratings:
        +100,838