Tree Recommendations for Privacy

Discussion in 'Trees' started by RM98, Apr 29, 2024.

1. RM98

RM98 Apprentice Gardener

Ratings:
    +20
    Hi all,

I’m new here so first of all, hello! I’m new to gardening and based in Yorkshire.

The house we’ve recently moved into has quite a large back garden with lots of possibilities so we’re currently working on a plan for that but at the front, the previous owners had a load of hardcore put down and compacted with decorative stones over the top as they occasionally needed to park their car on it.

Digging it all up to try and add some beds isn’t a particularly appealing thought so because the house is white and we’ve painted the fence blue, we’ve decided to continue with a bit of Mediterranean theme using containers for all the planting.

Anyway, that’s the background and there is a reason I’ve given some context because we’re looking to plant 2 or 3 trees along the fence line for privacy (3ft high picket style fence) as the houses across the street look straight into our living room from the upstairs level so I’m looking to find some contenders that fit in with the Mediterranean theme.

There are a few other requirements which might make it a bit difficult though …

1) Heavy clay soil which doesn’t drain well
    2) Exposed to wind - we live in a very flat part of Yorkshire in a village surrounded by arable farmland so can the wind can whip through the garden
    3) The trees will be planted about 5m from the house so I don’t want anything with wide spreading roots that might cause any structural damage over time
    4) For all year round screening, I’d like something which doesn’t drop its leaves
    5) We only want foliage from about 6.5 feet and above so that we still get light into the house and we can still look out onto the village from the window

I should probably add that the garden faces south east.